Ballet Talk for Dancers

Frustrated Dancer?

dancingismylife98

Hi everyone. So I've been dancing for 6 years and I'm 14 and I'm an okay dancer, at least to me. My teacher thinks I'm really good and pushes me to be better I have good extensions, I'm flexible and I have a good ballet body. So last year my teacher moved me up a level and now things are a lot harder then I'm used to and in repertoire class all the dances on pointe are very difficult and all the girls in the class are much better than me and my teacher for that class is very hard on me. I can't help comparing myself to the other girls and I can't keep up with some things in class. I'm so stressed over this and I don't know what I should do about it! Please give your advice!

• Administrators

First problem: Comparing. Get over that yesterday. It helps nothing, and you CAN stop doing it.

Second problem: Stressing about any of the above! You have been moved into a more advanced level and obviously your teachers believe that you are ready to start learning the more difficult things, but they don't expect you to be executing them at the same level as the older and more advanced students. Therefore YOU should not expect that either! Watch them, yes, learn from those who do things well, but do NOT compare yourself to them at this time. Realize that ballet is a long, slow process, nothing happens over night, and you will get there in time. Patience is very key, as of course is a lot of hard work. But being stressed about not being at that level right after you are moved in there is not facing reality. So, get a reality check going here, and figure out how this new situation a totally positive one! That you CAN do! :D