Ballet Talk for Dancers

Adult Ballet: A sudden appreciation!

Thyme

Out of the blue I decided to join the Adults Beginner class at DS's studio. I have to share this with everyone. By way of background I have no dance experience unless rock 'n roll counts?? I have had two classes and each time I have virtually collapsed from exhaustion afterwards. Definitely needed a little lie down! I think that my teacher and I agree that I have not missed out on a career by leaving my education so late in life (I am 48). No obvious talent showing at this early stage. :ermm: After watching DS work away at ballet for the last few years I finally appreciate how extremely hard it is! (I know I know I can hear you all laughing from here!). Even the simplest movement is deceptive. So hats off to you all who persevere. No wonder you are all so gorgeous, lean and supple. I will keep battling away here because I have high expectations of how this will improve my sagging posture and middle section. As DS commented after class # 'I have already learned alot'. Who knew that you cant see the teacher half of the time if you have a bad spot on the baree?? :P

I'm an adult who dances with the teens at the studio I attend. They recently started adult classes there, and the mother of one of the teens I dance with started ballet. The teen asked me what I thought about her mother doing ballet, and I told her that now her mum will appreciate all the hard work she does in class more!

Well done on getting into the studio Thyme!

Yes well DS is happy with my new found empathy but is mortified at the idea I will be 'seen'. I told him I was signed up for a solo at the end of year concert and he just stared at me. Mortified and hoping I wasnt serious! Poor kid. HAH!