Ballet Talk for Dancers

Ballet slippers- cross straps, one strap, no strap?

I have been in a quest for the "perfect" fitting ballet slipper, as they never seem to fit quite right. Yesterday I tried some more slippers on at a ballet shop, the shop girl told me some helpful things about the shape of my foot, but she thought the most important thing I was doing wrong with fit was the straps.

She said I have a very high instep and suggested no straps, or at most, one strap across. No straps seems like my foot would pop right out. Do others with a higher instep agree with the shop girl's recommendation? I am confused as to why having straps/no straps should even be relevent to instep size-- wouldn't you just want to make sure the straps aren't too tight, regardless of where they are placed?

I am a newbie so any thoughts from those more experienced are appreciated.

Guest Pas de Quoi

It has been my experience that one needs the elastics to hold the shoe securely on the foot. I don't agree with the person you spoke with in the dancewear store. I have very high insteps - arches - and I either attach my elastics in a crisscross fashion (as in the Sansha ballet flats) or I remove the elastics that come on the shoes and secure one wider piece of elastic over the instep. Either way works for me - no straps do not work for me as I have to snug up the drawstring elastic too tightly for comfort with no straps.

I think no strap would not work. I have strong feet but not high-arched, and find that the criss-cross straps work best in keeping my shoes (canvas, split-sole) hugging the shape of my foot. If you use one strap, the usual way to position it, is to fold the back heel forward so that the bend is at the point where the body of the shoe meets the sole. The point of the bend on the upper edge of the shoe is where the elastic should be sewn.