Ballet Talk for Dancers

Do teachers "give up" on adult students?

Gambina

As an adult student, I am kinda throwing this question out there to fellow students or even teachers...

I was wondering what your opinions are in regards to teachers expectations/hope for adult students? Of course, every teacher wants to see their students succeed, they want to see them improve and feel proud when they do.

As adult students, however, life gets in the way far too often. It holds us back, keeps us from regular classes, exhausts us to the point we can't always give it our all, or have the time to stretch everyday, or cross train.

Is there a point where teachers just "give up" on students that never progress? Teachers that just stop pushing because they know this pupil probably wont show up next week, or remember anything he/she was corrected on, wont jump or dance full out.

I have amazing teachers, and I'm not saying they would ever do this. I try my best to work hard (I'm the sweatiest person in class) and try to apply every correction, I feel privileged when I'm being challenged or forced to "do it until it's correct" any exercise I've messed up. But of course I would never want my teacher to lose faith in me because I've killed myself at work, missed classes, not tried hard enough because of lack of sleep, gained too much weight, reduced strength, or fumbled through numerous exercises one too many times.

I am curious if this does happen, teachers are people too and it can get tiring and pointless to exert so much energy where its not appreciated.

What do you guys think? Have you seen this happen in your classes either to you or someone else?

Edited by Gambina

I take 4 adult classes a week with different instructors (different studios) all with varianing attendace levels and I don't beleive I've ever seen any instructor back off on any adult student that makes it into class.