Ballet Talk for Dancers

Dilemma of a new adult dancer

Wilson Wan

Hello everybody! I am new to this forum and to be honest, this is what i have been searching for quite some time. I always wanted to find an active ballet forum community that i can be part of. Anyway, I am 22 this year and i am from Singapore. I am a male dancer. I have just started dancing ballet last September, with once a week lessons increasing to twice weekly to even thrice weekly. I am studying in a university and I am currently having holidays from May to August. Hence, I decided to go for classes almost daily except for sunday and monday, which are my free days, in order to improve in ballet. I suddenly had an interest in ballet and i eventually felt in love with it. I am roughly 6 feet tall and i weigh 64kg. I believe i can jump pretty well. However i tend to not pointe my foot and extend the line when jumping which destroys everything.

I started out with non syllabus adult classes, which supposedly had a prerequisite of having taken RAD grade 5 exams. I struggled through the remaining of last year. This year i felt that i was getting used to the pace and dynamics of the class but i still felt like a total newbie. It was hard in the beginning as i was kinda left to learn everything at one go. People in my class was doing their nice double pirouettes and i was like 'How do you do a pirouette?'. I managed to survive, thanks to a few good ballet friends elsewhere which taught me some basics. Now I am ready to move on and be a good ballet dancer with nice form and such. In addition, i think i might join in the recital by my teacher, which in august 2014.

Firstly, i feel that my basics are still relatively weak i suppose. What exercises should i be doing daily? I am planning to allocate 2 hours daily in the morning in addition to my night ballet classes to improve further. I am planning to practise developpes, battements, releves, pirouettes, chaines and jetes at the moment.