Ballet Talk for Dancers

Which Studio to Choose for Creative Movement?

mamabee

Hello! I am new to the world of dance and ballet. I have never danced myself. I joined this site so I can learn more about it and make educated decisions should my daughter continue to enjoy dancing.

My daughter is turning 3 in the Fall. I realize that this is very young and it's probably silly to seek advice on this topic at this point, but she absolutely loves dance and I want to make sure I choose the best studio for her. She completed a Mommy & Me summer dance class when she was 1 and she did a full year of a dance class for 2 year olds at our local studio in town this year. She is also doing an extra Spring/Summer term and a summer camp.

We have many options for Creative Movement (age 3-4 class) in the Fall at various studios in our area. Although she likes her current teacher, I'm not sure I want to continue there because the studio is very disorganized (example - it took them 6+ months to process our payment and they left us off the email list for recital info and also won't return emails or phone calls). Also, I've seen their older dancers at two recitals so far, and even to my very untrained eye, they honestly weren't very good (apologies if this sounds harsh, just being honest). Ballet is very obviously not the main focus there.