Ballet Talk for Dancers

RAD and Vaganova

Scuballerina

Hello, long time lurker new member here, and this is my first post.

I studied ballet as a kid (11 years or so, in a Vaganova school then changed to RAD school) and returned as an adult. Now I restart again after 9 years of sabbatical.

In the city that I live, it's not that easy to find adult ballet class, so now I take 3 classes per week in 2 places using RAD and Vaganova. Am taking one hour class per week in the RAD school and one one-hour class plus one two-hour class in the Vaganova studio (not a school).

I really want to improve my dancing, and I am now in a stage of life where I can allocate some funds and time to pursue this. So am thinking to take private class as addition to my current schedule. I plan to one day take a graded class, and it seems RAD is the only option. therefore I plan to take private class in the RAD school to 'prepare' me to join graded class later. However, I really love my Vaganova studio teacher, and would like to take privates with him to improve my technique.

Would really appreciate your advice on the sane-ness of my plan. I remember having quite a difficult time adjusting from the Vaganova to RAD back when I was a kid. Will studying two methods at the same time be confusing? Or, since I am an adult now, it will not be a problem since a good class is a good class anyway?

Thank you in advance, and glad to be here....

• Administrators

Welcome, Scuballerina! We are glad that you have "de-lurked" and decided to join in our discussions. :)

If you are handling the mix of RAD and Vaganova now in your classes, then I don't think it would be a big problem. But, if there is a lot of conflict, and you plan to aim for RAD exams, then you might need to add more classes in that method.