Ballet Talk for Dancers

Adult Pas De Deux Question

leopard dancer

I am an adult male who has been taking ballet for the past 8 years (off and on for the past 4 years) in a recreational studio. I have always wanted to learn to partner and perform a pas de deux in a local production or a recital. The problem is my recreational studio may not have enough women in the adult class that can go en pointe and would want to perform in a recital. I did take some classes at a local upstart ballet school that has adult classes a few years ago they have some local productions and are definitely short on men. I like the studio I attend, but not sure if this goal is attainable or is taken seriously as I am an adult student. Should I work with my current studio and hopefully find a lady who can go en pointe and would like to partner or should I go with the local ballet school? When I was took classes at the local ballet school, they did ask me to be a party dad in their Nutcracker production that one year. I was out of state at the time so I declined. I guess I am a male willing to partner, but needs to find a female partner. Any advice?

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, leopard dancer!!!!

If you wish to learn pas de deux, then you will need to get to a school where it is competently taught. It isn't something where we just choose a partner and start lifting, but I'm sure you already knew that :wink: Start doing some research on schools in your area. Look for professional environments, and then, see what they say!!!

Good luck!!!

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, leopard dancer!!!!

If you wish to learn pas de deux, then you will need to get to a school where it is competently taught. It isn't something where we just choose a partner and start lifting, but I'm sure you already knew that :wink: Start doing some research on schools in your area. Look for professional environments, and then, see what they say!!!

Good luck!!!