Ballet Talk for Dancers

How much dance is enough dance?

noobswan

Hey everyone!! I am brand new to your forum. I have been reading posts here for a while but never actually asked anything. I am restarting ballet this fall and I was wondering if I was taking enough classes. I am still a beginner (dancing less than a year) and I don't want to over exert myself. But at the same time I want to see improvement. I am 26 and have no aspirations to be a professional dancer, I just do it for myself. As of now I am signed up for two classes a week, each last an hour and a half. I have been considering signing up for one or two more though. I guess I just need advice on what is too much.

hi noobswan- I guess the answer is 'it depends'. It depends on how much money you want to spend on classes, how much dance your body can handle before you hurt yourself and what other commitments you have in your life (school, family etc). I too am an adult dancer (bit older than you :cool2: ) but if you don't have particular goals for dancing and just do it for your own purposes, than there is no answer to your question. None that someone else can give you anyways. You will know when you are doing too much- perhaps it will become not so fun and more like a job (that is when it is called 'work'). :yucky:

Thanks. That is a really honest answer and I really appreciate it. I think I am just going to go for it and see how I feel. I can always cut back if I need to.

sounds good. you will know when you are doing too much- it just wont be as much fun anymore! like most things, you can have too much of a good thing :P

And as an adult returner to ballet (I took 5 years off), just remember that your brain will often still think it can do a lot of things, your body on the other hand will have different plans! Just go a little slower the first few classes to make sure you don't hurt yourself (like I did!!)