Ballet Talk for Dancers

Men in Tights

tangoking

I'm a newcomer to ballet. I've studied on and off for about a year. I love it; I find great satisfaction in the physical and mental discipline that it requires.

That being said, I am hung up on the issue of tights.

Do any other men out there feel uncomfortable wearing tights in class? "Edited content here to comply with BTFD policy" Is this not immodest?

Often I hear that it helps teachers to see body lines better; however, most (if not all) sharp-eyed teachers can spot poor technique through a pair of jeans.

I have read the "what we don't talk about" sticky. Although this post may approach this boundary set forth in that post, please understand that the question posed here in good faith to address a question that men face.

Edited by gcwhitewater
BTFD policy.

hello tangoking

I think that is a question many face when first taking ballet up to be honest, I have been doing now for coming up to 2 yrs, my girlfriend sort of dragged me to one of her classes (she has been doing since she was 6) and I got roped in so to speak, at first use used to wear like sport compression shorts, then once I started to enjoy the classes the teacher asked me to go appropriately dressed, so went on a few UK websites to look for men's tights anyway bought a couple of pair, of course been wearing dance belt from day 1, that has never bothered me and the "effect" it creates. Must admit to the first time tried them on, in front of my girlfriend felt a bit "strange" to say the least but she said I looked great and just forget wearing them.

So what I did was to wear them a few time under my trousers to get not only used to how they felt but also when I was out, to help the "mind" if you like about wearing them in a public place, yes under my trousers but still I had them on in public