Ballet Talk for Dancers

Another Performer correcting me

BlleFille

So I am soon going to take part in an adult dance piece and am very excited as I have not been in a performance since I was 12... err...about 20 years ago!

It is tricky enough and quite long. I take a lot of ballet classes but I am still a fairly beginner to intermediate level.

There is another dancer whom I have some interaction with while we are dancing...not directly but little things, like look toward each other or dance with each other along with a third dancer in a circle and she seems to find it perfectly fine to correct me saying things like "look toward me " or pulling me aside to tell me which way to face when turning. Then asking me if that worked better and complimenting me when I get it right.

She has a lot more experience than me but I am finding it very annoying as I don't feel it's her place to correct me but the teacher/ choreographer's!

Also, she barely turns up to any rehearsals, got special financial help with her costume when I am as poor as her because she cried to the director so I feel it's even less her place to correct me.

Am I being overly sensitive? Is it perfectly fine for her to give me corrections without my asking? She is better than me and like I said, more experienced but I feel it is bad etiquette. It's not like I am bumping into her or getting in her way!

Even if her corrections are perfectly valid and make a lot of sense, I feel they should come from my teacher or maybe if I ASKED her for help???

Please advise :)

I think you are being a bit overly sensitive, but not terribly so -- and certainly understandably so.