Ballet Talk for Dancers

Can you please evaluate this schedule?

bluemountain

I also have a question. I am still very new to ballet, that is why I would appreciate any input. Does this schedule look good for a 12 yo boy?

Mon - 2 hr ballet class (includes stretch, barre, center and some male technique)

Tue - 2 hr ballet class

Wed - 2 hr ballroom

Thurs - 2 hr ballet class

Fri - 1.5 hr modern

Sat - rest

Sun - 1.5 ballet class + 2 hr ballroom (there will be an hour break between these two)

There may be another, male technique class, added later on, but most likely it will be added as some extra time to every ballet class.

Thank you!

• Administrators

It's a lot, but it is all good. As long as he is happy with it, and doing well, I think it is fine. :)

Thank you, Victoria. He is asking for more ballet, but I think it is plenty for the second year of regular ballet studies :).

• 1 year later...

Hello, my 12 yo DD is just starting pointe this week after 2+ years of training in pre-professional program (4 years prior training in recreational program). Please evaluate her schedule:

Monday: 1.5hrs tech; up to 30 minutes pointe (increasing time increments over the next few months)

Tuesday: 1.5hrs tech

Wednesday: 1.5hrs tech, 1 hours pilates

Thursday: 1.5hrs tech

Friday: 1 hr pilates, 30 minutes pointe

Saturday: 1.5hr tech (lower level), 1.5hr tech (on level)

Thanks so much!

• Administrators

MBdancers, The schedule is good except that I don't understand the Friday with no tech. class but a 30 minute pointe following a Pilates class? That is just quite strange. Is it a private lesson for pointe?