Ballet Talk for Dancers

Is it appropriate to ask to do pointe?

Ice-Dancer

Since returning to pointe, I have made a very quick comeback and am almost able to do all of class en pointe, something I am very excited about! However, I recently changed studios for conveience and financial reasons and really enjoy the studio. It gies me options to also branch out into contemporary and modern dance, something I have always wanted to try. The teaching is good and the teacher is well qualified, however it's not as "strict" as a studio as far as dance goes and is a little more recreational than my previous studio. I am in the second-to-most advanced class, and I enjoy the class, I like the pace and I fit in fine. I cannot take the more advanced classes just due to scheduling. However, pointe is not done in every class and when pointe is done, it's like beginning pointe. I realize this may not be the "best" dance school, but I am a college student and I am looking more for something to do recreationally so this studio fits fine for what my goals are. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy working on technique, however I don't want to be "held back" if you will. I would like to be doing at least barre in pointe and some center so I can continue to gain strength en pointe, but I am afraid to ask. Would it be appropriate to ask to do pointe barre and center?

Thanks!

ID

I'd say, that you can always ask, as long as you can live with the answer "no". As a teacher I would be completely fine with a student asking to wear pointe shoes in my class, if they are techincally read and okay with it. Actually I would perfer being asked before than just a student appearing with pointes.

From my understanding, teachers are usually okay with adult students wearing pointe shoes for technique class as long as they are technically strong enough to. I always ask my teachers beforehand as a gesture of respect and courtesy. But again, it is not the most ideal way to practice pointework.