Ballet Talk for Dancers

Is Professional a possibility?

Balletgirlenpointe

Hi everyone! I am 15 and have been dancing for about a year and a half. I am on pointe and two months ago just started attending and arts school with a rigorous dance department, which is the department I am in. We have regular academic classes all day from 9:20 until 2, and then dance from 2 until 4:45. This includes modern DSLT technique, ballet technique and pointe. ( I am en pointe). I am a boarder at this school. I am in the beginner level f this school, but I have already felt myself improving in the two months i have been at this school. I am a sophomore. I am one of the best in the beginner class and have been taking classes with the next level up as well. Also, my teacher also recently suggested that she start teaching me privately, which would be an amazing opportunity that I am going to look into. I love ballet, and I understand how tough the world of it is. So - what I want to know, is, is it possible for me to become a professional? My teachers have told me so, but I would like some opinions! Also - I am working on my flexibilty. Left splits consistently down, and i can do them cold. Right splits recently down, but working on getting them consistent. Center spits OK but I have a goal to get them flat by thanksgiving. Thanks for your advice!!! :)

• Administrators