Ballet Talk for Dancers

Retaining Choreography and Dance Steps

danceprincess

I'm in my 3rd year of ballet and I've just been invited into the preprofessional company at the ballet school that I train at. Joining this company has presented new performance opportunities for me to perform repertoire pieces and bigger roles in the ballet productions. My only dilemma is I seem to pick up on steps quite slowly. Once I have the steps I can perform and execute them well but my issue is retaining the steps and remembering them to practice them on my own. Does anyone have any advice or tips on how to retain and remember choreography in such a short amount of time?

Are you by any chance an engineer, or accountant????

I find that I need many more repetitions to fix sequences of steps into my memory then the teens need. This seems to be common with adult dancers - the problem is that if you don't remember the steps, you can't practise them on your own so that you can remember them!

Some suggestions for ways of getting those needed repetitions in your own time:

Write down sequences of steps when you have a break during rehearsals, or straight afterwards.

Look for patterns in the steps, or repeated sequences.

Record somebody doing the steps using your phone (with their permission of course).

Get a recording of the music being used. Listen to the music and even if you can't dance full out, run through the steps in your head.

Wembley gives you a really useful list. I find that repetition and remembering patterns are the best ways. You'll find most choreography has patterns of steps, but also patterns on the floor in the space. Can you think about the choreographic sequences in the three dimensional spaces of the stage?