Ballet Talk for Dancers

Should I be a ballerina?

Chloper

So I've been doing ballet since 3 or 4 but only as a hobby now I'm 13 and a half and still not studying it professionally. I'd love to be a dancer but I don't know if it's the right thing for me. I absolutely adore ballet and when I see ballerinas on stage I just wanna be like them. But I don't know if it's right for me. I don't know if I have the discipline and mental strength needed for this art. What should I do to find out if it's a good idea to be a ballerina? Currently I'm studying grade 5 and grade 7 rad. I do both because I find grade 5 too easy.

• Administrators

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, Chloper. :)

No one can tell you what you should or should not want to be! But keep in mind that some kinds of professions are not just a matter of wanting. Becoming a professional and making a living in the arts is a very, very difficult thing to do, and requires a great deal of special talent. For ballet it also requires a certain physical facility, along with a very high level of training, commitment, dedication, focus, work ethic, and knowing that you would rather be dancing than doing anything else, no matter what! There are many more highly trained and very talented dancers than there are jobs. :(

You are right that one must have the discipline and mental strength, but there must also be the kind of training that can take you to the professional level. This training is very expensive and also requires a great deal of support from your family. You might even need to go away from home very young in order to get the kind of training needed, depending on where you live and whether there are professional schools there.