Ballet Talk for Dancers
Sign in to follow this  
paxaman0

Five Feet Positions!

paxaman0

Hey all, quick question here. I just started learning the five foot positions. What advice do you have for me in terms of the third position (where you move your foot backward and whatnot).

I'm assuming you just have to practice it day and night? For me, some of those positions definitely don't feel normal.

Willimus

Hi:

I am not exactly sure what you mean about moving your foot backward in third position, but what I can say is...if you are an adult beginner, nothing will feel "normal" because it simply isn't "normal". It should not, however, feel painful.

paxaman0

Sorry for the confusion haha I'm trying to explain it best I know how. Basically first position and second position were pretty easy. We were practicing at the barre. First position was where the feet were spread at like a 90 degree angle, second position my foot moved forward in line with my other foot and yet pointing at a curved angle (Somewhat like a tendu') and for the third position she had me move my right foot backwards while keeping my hips straight and my body tall. *I'm working off of memory as best as I know how lol, so I may not be 100% accurate.* Basically I had to keep my hips forward and center facing the barre the whole time, and all energy was spent focusing on footwork.

It wasn't painful, I just wasn't sure that I should be locking me leg out. Sorry for the confusion.

GTLS Designs

paxaman0, it is wonderful that you are getting such personalized attention - I'm sure that this can feel overwhelming at times! There are so many body positions, leg shapes, pointed feet, and feet rotated outward. As Willimus mentions, ballet does not feel normal.... where you need to be concerned is if it is also painful.