Ballet Talk for Dancers
harrussell

Boy Starting At 16

harrussell

Ok, so over the past 2 years I've slowly gotten more interested in dance and more specifically ballet, and I starting taking an RAD Intermediate Foundation class in New Zealand around October last year, and I took that until about beginning of December and that's when my family and I moved back to the US. So now we're staying with my Aunt and Uncle in a little town in Vermont, and the only dance school is a small school about half an hour away, where next week I'm going to start taking a teen ballet class and an intermediate ballet and a teen contemporary class. If, when I start classes I find out I'm really into it, is it too late to start training to become a professional dancer? If so what would I have to start doing? I'm a sophomore in high school right now, and it's too late to audition for a summer intensive anywhere, and I was also looking at full time winter term at School of American Ballet but I'm really not sure. Thanks.

GTLS Designs

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers harrussell!!!

There is a higher percentage of females to males in ballet, thus the potential for males to become professionals in the field is higher. Because of this, males are also able to start ballet in older ages and still have the possibility to dance professionally.

With all of that said, lets not put the cart before the horse here. First you need to get into a ballet class.... and like it. Then the school where you are taking classes needs to offer a high caliber of technique classes. Of course, then you must have a decent facility for ballet: body proportions, flexibility, nice feet, musicality, and coordination (just to name a few). After all of that falls into play... maybe you can audition for a Summer Intensive (in 2015).