Ballet Talk for Dancers
Sign in to follow this  
st0ut717

Christmas present for wife

st0ut717

Ok my wife just resumed ballet a month ago and on the learning curve I am on is steep. She really did not like the Swiss Army knife I got her for Valentine's Day.

Ok so what does a ballet dancer need want? And please be precise . I have zero knowledge of dance

I was thinking a bag from caprezio as a start.

gsmom

What about tickets to the ballet? :)

MelissaGA

I think tickets to see a ballet would be the ultimate.

You could add to that perhaps books about/by famous ballerinas- "Holding on to the Air" an autobiography by Suzanne Farrell, "Dancing on My Grave" by Gelsey Kirkland, "Life In Motion: An Unlikely Ballerina" by Misty Copeland. Also "Apollo's Angels" by Jennifer Homans is a great in depth history of ballet. There's a little search box for Amazon at the bottom of this page. If you end up buying a book or anything on Amazon, you can use that and this site gets a tiny percentage.

gav

I agree with the others -- books and tickets would be better gifts than "gear" because people tend to have very personal/individual opinions about dance clothes, bags, etc.

Hamorah

If there are no ballet performances in your area, there are loads of wonderful DVDs of ballet. You could either get her one of those (if you know what ballets she likes) or give her a voucher for Amazon, so she can choose for herself.

st0ut717

I actually have the benefit of 2 ballet companies in the area. The Boston ballet and the festival ballet company in providence.

Hmmmm ok ballet theme coffee cup with tickets inside !! Thanks For the advise. Lady of camalias is play in the spring :)

Knowing what ballet she likes. Ouch . Please remember that I am VERY new to the ballet world. I just found out there where more than 2. (Nut cracker and swan lake).

Claude_Catastrophique