Ballet Talk for Dancers

30-year old beginner!

Guest Anders

Hello all!

I'm a 30 year old lawyer who spent the last one and a half years in St. Petersburg, Russia. Although far from a ballet buff when I first arrived (and, honestly, still not very knowledgable), the city will simply not allow you to miss seeing a number of Swan Lakes, Nutcrackers, etc. at one or more of its numerous classical venues. I was charmed. When I returned to my native Stockholm a week ago, I immediately signed up for an extra curricular beginners course in ballet at the Stockholm ballet academy. I realize that for ballet purposes I'm way over the hill, but I'm doing it to hopefully be able to put my body at the service of beauty (not just beer).

Anyway, my first class is next Thursday, and I'd like to know a few things before I go. I asked the instructor what I should wear and she said tights. I know nothing about tights. As to shoes, she said that just socks would do for the first lesson. Would anyone like to give me the low-down on ballet apparel? What are tights, what do I wear on top (t-shirt?), and all the more mind boggling, what do I wear UNDER them? I'm grateful for all the pointers I can get...

Also, I'd like to hear your views on the age issue and any other experiences you might wish to share.

Thanks for your attention.

Anders

(I also posted this message on the adult students page)

:confused: :confused: :confused:

[ 09-04-2001: Message edited by: Anders ]

:confused:

[ 09-04-2001: Message edited by: Anders ]

Welcome to ballet! I hope you will enjoy yourself.

What you will need is a dancebelt (this answers the underneath question). A dance store will know what you mean. T-shirt is fine and you tuck it inside the dance belt. The tights can be held by a belt at the waist. You roll the tights over the belt and a webbed, military belt works well. Or you may use suspenders. I am sure the school has a document that advises you what to wear and where to purchase it.