Ballet Talk for Dancers

Is it OK to wear flesh colored ballet shoes to an audition?

Boydancermom

I'm new to this SI audition thing. Our son loves his Bloch Synchrony split sole shoes. But I haven't been able to get them in black - just flesh color. (long story - Bloch released them in the UK but not in the U.S. yet and I couldn't figure out the sizing in the UK - vs. boys/girls - I was stumped).

Anyway - how bad is it to wear footless black tights with a white leo and his flesh colored shoes to the NGB and Houston SI auditions this weekend? He adhered to the ABT dress code when he did that audition (black footed tights and black shoes) - but was just wondering how important that is. (it would mean he would have to wear shoes he doesn't really like that much - yes, he is picky pants about his shoes and I get that). He also doesn't like footed tights. :wallbash:

HI DebinCharleston- the only reason I can see that it would 'matter' is if the SI specifically requests a certain dress code for the audition. If they dont (in my limited experience I havent seen requests for colour of shoes with male dancers but that is just my experience), then it shouldnt matter at all. If they DO, then I think we need to stick to it. There is enough competition to get into an SI without giving them a little thing like 'non compliance'. Just my two cents.

In the past two years, I've noticed that more and more men and boys are wearing very traditional dancewear at auditions. I can't explain the change, but I'm glad my son's studio's dress code is so strict now: fitted white dance shirt or leo, black tights, thin white socks, white shoes.

But I would go with what's conventional at the program for which your ds is auditioning. Some programs prefer footed tights and black shoes.

Ballet dragon