Ballet Talk for Dancers

Working with an outside choreographer

e_bunny

A little background: I am 13, have been dancing for 3 years, and am currently in a pretty nice pre-pro school. This is my first experience of working with a choreographer, so there are many things start wearing me out.

Yesterday, we have to do sissonne, sissonne, sissonne to coupe, releve attitude. It was really hard for me because we have not done a lot of one leg releve things, not even at the barre. Everyone went for it but I was so scared; my sissonne were tiny because I was so focused on the releve attitude. The choreographer wasn't happy. I know he wasn't just talking to me, but I feel really bad because I do, I DO, try my best to dance like what he wants.

I am not very good at turning. There is one part that we have to do pique turns, then coupe, coupe, coupe (like the half turn) and into something else. I still haven't managed to do that well, but I practice everyday, doing them slow, doing them in different tempo, trying to spot faster...etc, but my coupes are messing, and I always have to pause a bit before I continue to the next thing. Sometimes, it gets better, but when I have to do it in a class or in the rehearsal, I still don't look good. One teacher helps me a lot, and we work on different ways to make it better. He was there to watch the rehearsal yesterday, and I just feel sooooo bad and sooooo sorry about not doing it well. I feel frustrated and defeated. I am wasting everyone's time, but I am not sure what else more can I do, so I can turn better - especially turn better when people are watching.

If I can't do steps well and nicely, how can I show that I want and try to work professionally? Also, since we dance in groups, when others people aren't traveling much, should I still travel because the choreographer asks us to? I would be standing out, and we get yelled at for not dancing as whole too!

Sorry, it is a lot & thank in advance for any advice.

• Administrators