Ballet Talk for Dancers

Combination of ballet steps

martin

(Sorry for my english, I hope, I can describe what I am searching for. Thank you for your help.)

I am an adult beginner and I have an urge to learn little combination of ballet steps. In class we dance some small steps at the end, but now we have holidays and I really want to learn more combinations and want to learn faster. I really want to get more into dancing.

Are there any books or DVDs with common combination of steps or figures?

Thank you for any advice.

Martin

Martin, I'm not sure which steps you mean: were they jumping steps? Petit allegro (small jumps)? You could look on YouTube for beginner ballet sequences, or go to the American Ballet Theatre online ballet dictionary:

http://www.abt.org/education/dictionary/

It shows individual steps, which are then combined into sequences.

You might also check Gretchen Ward Warrens book on classical ballet technique. Lot's of good pictures and everything is broken down step by step. This book helped me to understand many steps in details and I remember that I practiced steps in slow-motion at home with this book when I was a student.

Redbookish I clicked through Youtube and found some nice combinations, like waltz-steps or adagio, like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fo3ujC-fLz4 It's OK, but I am tired klicking through youtube-videos. I know the single steps, but now I need combination, transitions, very small cherography.

Claude_Catastrophique I have this book, it's great, but there are no combinations.

Isn't ballet like a language? I know the words, but now I want to build sentences. I mean dancing, choreography, but on a very very very beginner level, like in learning playing guitar there are 3-Chord-Songs, something like this.

Guest Pas de Quoi