Ballet Talk for Dancers
GTLS Designs

Luigi Facciuto, Dance Teacher to Broadway Stars, Dies at 90

GTLS Designs
Willimus

It is with a heavy heart hat I make this post. I was invited by the moderators to make a post on this thread, as I was a student of the legendary Luigi for nearly 30 years. Although I was primarily ballet trained, I began my dance studies with Luigi, and he was single handedly responsible for my career.

I began dancing, as a recreational dancer, in my 20's. It never occurred to me that I could dance professionally, as I was starting so late, but I was told that Luigi taught beginners...and so I went to Luigi. After a few months, he told me "it's not too late for you". After a year of Luigi classes twice a day, every day, I added ballet and modern, and in less than 3 years I had my first contract. Although I mainly studied ballet for the rest of my career, I still took class with Luigi a few times a week....for the rest of my dancing life.

He was, without a doubt, the most brilliant teacher I ever encountered in any dance form. Many people have commented that I was the last dancer to really "get it" and I "got it" directly from him when he was in his 60's and still teaching and dancing well. Without his training, I would never have become the dancer I was, or the teacher I am. First and foremost, the great Luigi taught beginners. In fact, he farmed out then"advanced classes" to assistants and guest teachers. but every morning, Monday through Saturday, Luigi taught his "style class" (which was essentially a slow advanced beginner class) and it was in that class that he passed on his method. His technique is a codified training method...not a class where students follow center warm up and then learn a piece of choreography (as in most jazz classes). I am honored that Luigi certified me to teach his technique.