Ballet Talk for Dancers
Sign in to follow this  
beckyl

Deciding what to do next...

beckyl

So I find myself ballet class-less once again. My current ballet class has gotten too big so it is being split into two sections: beginners and more advanced (grade 5+.) The beginners class is at 9.45 a.m. on a Wednesday which I can't attend because I'm at work then.

Because I live in a rural area my ballet options are sadly few and far between. Most classes are at least an hour away and currently I work full time and am in grad school full time too (I'm training to be a teacher.) I have contacted most of the local schools but haven't had much luck, two have got back and said they don't have an adults class and won't accept adults in graded classes. I'm still waiting to hear back from a few schools and also considering if I can feasibly travel 90 minutes for a class. I am a recreational type beginner, I want to do ballet because I have fun doing it.

I do have a few options but none are strictly a 'traditional-style' ballet class. One is a contemporary class and the other is a fusion of ballet barre and pilates.

I did try a class once but didn't like it much as it had no barre section and I wasn't crazy about the teacher either. But she does run an adult ballet class and I'm wondering if instruction in ballet, <I>any</I> instruction in ballet is better than nothing at this point.

In a year I will graduate and I'm planning on getting a job somewhere with ample ballet opportunities (I'm not moving just for the ballet, but I am moving into a big city with lots of opportunities.) So another option is to just say I will put my ballet training on hold for a year.

I guess I'm just looking for a few opinions on what you would do...

Garyecht