Ballet Talk for Dancers
Sign in to follow this  
Kini

Hmmmmmmm

Kini

What this say to an adult class. Instructor comes in, gives a basic barre exercise, puts on the music and then sits down without another word until the exercise is over, no corrections or comments and repeats this pattern for the next hour and a half

Is it wrong to assume he has no interest in teaching adults as he was very animated with the level six class before ours.

Ludmilla

It's what I'd call, "calling it in" --- If that! i hope you can find another teacher or studio that has a good adult class. (I say that as an adult student myself -- But it's pretty obviously not very professional or worthwhile, from my perspective).

I have run across, occasionally a fairly senior teacher (former accomplished dancer) who may not be fully spry or able to demonstrate, but who demo's anyway (still has eloquent feet and hands) and still talks plenty with plenty of great tips and corrections. The one you describe sounds like a dud, to me...... (I'd wonder about an AD who would hire a teacher l like that, too.) Again just my opinion. I sense you are skeptical though, and I'd agree - would not be an acceptable teacher for me to study with.

gimpydancer

I know too that there are some adults (mostly those with more experience when they were younger but not always) who just want to take class and aren't really looking for corrections. I could see them being ok with this kind of class. Not me though, I need my corrections!

AndrewUK

Sounds like to me time to look for another class, cant be to many people just looking to take the class with no corrections or input from the Teacher/Instructor, although might be wrong, would thought most people want the input so they can improve

Or was it just a bad class for the Teacher/Instructor - mind elsewhere

Redbookish

Is this your regular teacher, Kini? Or was it a substitute teacher not used to teaching adults?

Kini