Ballet Talk for Dancers

New here and need advice!!

Guest MarysMom

Guest MarysMom

Hello, I am new here! I have been lurking for a while, and finally decided to jump in and join. I will be starting my first ballet class in just a couple of weeks. I am 24 years old, and I have no ballet experience. I had a baby 4 weeks ago, and thought ballet would be a great way to lose some weight and have fun, too. I figure skated competitively for 12 years, and I was looking for something similar to try. My question is: Does anyone have any good advice for me going to my first class...such as what to wear (the teacher says I can wear anything) and what sort of shoes to get? I am so excited, but a little nervous as I don't know what to expect. Thanks in advance.

Guest piccolo

Will you have a chance to observe the class you will be joining in a few weeks? The standard uniform for ballet classes is tights, leotard and ballet shoes, however, you might feel more comfortable seeing what the other students are wearing.

No matter what you wear, though, the one thing you will definitely need is ballet shoes. Go to your nearest dancewear store and have them help you find shoes that fit you.

Good luck with your first class!

• Administrators

Hello MarysMom, welcome to the Adult Ballet Students forum on Ballet Alert! Online :)

Piccolo's advice to watch a class is great! Since you are not sure what to expect, I think that watching a class would help you with that. As for ballet shoes, you can get either leather or canvas, full sole or split sole, just whichever seems to fit you best and feels good. Be sure to ask them to show you where to sew the elastic :)

Guest mic31

remeber that in class there are only 2 people watching you. You and the teacher. everyone else is too busy trying to get it right too. So relax and enjoy yourself.

Hello Marysmom!