Ballet Talk for Dancers

Adult Dancer Returning to Pointe

hartley

Hi, all!

So happy to have found this forum! Ballet Talk was a great resource for me many years ago when I was dancing, and I'm thrilled to have returned to dance now and have found a place to grow as an adult dancer.

Bit about me before I move to my question. I danced for about 16 years from age 6 to 22 pretty regularly. In my junior high and high school years, I really grew to love ballet and began dancing with companies, doing Summer Intensives, etc. I was never phenomenal, but I held my own and danced heavily during those years. Due to injuries, however, I did not pursue a dance career and danced only recreationally in college. Once I graduated college, I pretty much gave up dancing and began to lead an almost sedentary lifestyle, in and out of the gym but not nearly as active as I had been up to that point.

About 14 months ago, I had hip surgery (illipsoas release, acetabuloplasty (bone reshaping for hip impingement), and labral tear repair). I still am due to have the same in the other hip, but I'm putting it off. Out of the blue, about a month ago, I saw a posting for "community auditions" for Sleeping Beauty at a local pre-professional company, and, in not my smartest moment, went to audition. I made corps, nothing special, but more than I expected having been out of dance for five years and returning from hip surgery and a sedentary lifestyle. It is kicking my butt. I am in poor cardiovascular shape, have lost a great deal of strength, flexibility, and muscle memory, and my illiopsoas is still incredibly weak from last year's surgery. Again, not my brightest idea.

In any case, I hope that the aforementioned issues will subside with time, if I continue to pursue ballet.