Ballet Talk for Dancers

Pelvic pain

redrocks

Hi there!

I'm an enthusiastic adult ballet student who is infatuated with ballet. I dance about three to four times a week. I almost never had injuries that lasted longer than a few weeks, until last week.

After doing a pilates strengthening work out focused on the inner thighs (making a circular movement with the lower leg, while lying on my side) I experienced a sharp pain next to my left sitting bone in my pelvic area. After two weeks the pain hadnt lessened and it affected my movement pretty badly especially while doing hamstring stretches, I couldnt even touch my toes, it was too painful I visited my doctor, who sent me to a PT. She said the left of my pelvis was out of line, which made my left hamstring stretch beyond its normal range, explaining why I couldnt extend my left leg above ninety degrees. She then cracked my pelvis back into place by making a fast rotating motion while I was lying on her bench with my left knee pulled up.

This didnt help. I visited her three more times, where she did the same thing, but with no results. She then sent me back to my doctor, who said it was definitely Ischias. I got new exercises for stretching my hamstrings, which also didnt help.