Ballet Talk for Dancers

Sweat stains on leotard

BlueFaye

I couldn't find anything on it, I can't imagine there isn't s post about it

I'm a sweater, on a hot day the streams fall down my back

I always have a huge stain high on my belly

With black I think it conceals a bit

But I also sweat down you know where

Are there any lady's out there who have the sameness problem?

I would hate if it would show down there

I do wear underwear, everybody does I dance with

So that would soak some of it up I think

The leotards where I'm from are a cotton blend

But now I ordered a new leotard from abroad made from a sort of Lycra fabric in a light grey

I'm conscious if it will show up more

I have no experience with that fabric

And I only owned black leotards

Can someone tell me if sweat stains will show up more on the Lycra-ish fabric

Is there something I can do to conceal the stains or prevent it?

I get super sweaty during class, which is so weird because I swear that I seemed to sweat less than most people in track and cross country. Having never owned a cotton leotard I can't offer a comparison. My non-black lycra/spandex/tactel/meryl leotards all show sweat. I've stopped caring much about sweat marks in general, but I do feel your pain with regard to crotch-area sweat. If I'm wearing a leotard that is not black I will often just wear my tights (either pink or black) over my leotard. The tights, of course, will get sweaty, but it looks considerably less noticeable than sweat marks slowly appearing and spreading on the leotard. I know others have a thing against wearing pink tights over leotards, I just don't particularly care when doing so can save me from wasting energy worrying about whether or not there are dots of sweat appearing around or below my waist.