Ballet Talk for Dancers

Front and Center

mamaya1875

DD came out from her second week of her four week SI and said she got front and center in one of the choreography. The other one she is in the front line not center though.....but she is thrilled! We are assuming that she is dancing well and that the teachers think she is also a good dancer in order for her to be placed there. But since I've no previous experience in dance I can't be sure. Our old school had everyone take turns in the front line for every performance. Her current studio doesn't have showcases....and observation days never include choreography. I'm thinking that there must be other factors involved like height symmetry. If there are teachers out there that can give me some insights to how they place the dancer, I'd really appreciate. I know it must seem obvious to others that it's a good thing but I don't want DD to get too excited if it's not that big of a deal. Thanks!

Enjoy her placement,. Let her enjoy her placement. Choreography has many working parts. Enjoy it how the choreographer presented it and don't worry about the whys and why-fors and it will be a lovely ride for you both. :thumbsup:

It really is not necessary --or useful--to try to deconstruct everything into deep 'what does this placement in a piece mean for my dk's position in training'. Just let her enjoy it---wherever it may be.

Agree with dancemaven-- just enjoy! FWIW at our school, front and center usually seems to mean 1) the kid is being featured, especially if they have different choreography, or 2) are being entrusted to lead the line, or 3) they are short!

That's just what I have observed, and I am not a teacher. Congratulations and enjoy!

I am a mom of an over 13 (14 yrs) so remove if needed but I could not agree more with Dancemaven.