Ballet Talk for Dancers

Audition disappointment

Aussiedancemum

Hi

DS 9 auditioned recently for a professional production of nutcracker in our home town. 17 boys auditioned for the two casts - they do 21 shows. He got a call back for a second audition for the choreographer but missed out at that point.

I thought he was reasonably cool about it all until he went back to his home studio and told his teacher he was cast. She was all excited for him and I had to say no he got a call back but missed out. He burst into tears when we got in the car when I asked him why he did that he just said he wanted everyone to be proud of him. I told him we are proud of him and he did really well to get a call back. His response was 'there were loads of girls but hardly any boys but I still didn't get picked'.

I've tried to keep auditions low key (he's only been to two) as a music teacher I've seen my fair share of ugly parents and really don't want to be one. How do I help him deal with this disappointment? Is he too young for auditions. He is always the one who wants to try out its not pushed by me (although I did get a bit excited about the callback and possibility of a part in a professional production).

well I say good for him for showing up and auditioning!! Not everyone has that confidence. :clapping:

However part of putting yourself out there is not being chosen. I don't think he is too young to audition but he may find it hard to handle rejection. I guess time will tell on that. Our DS hasn't done a'lot of auditioning (largely due to lack of opportunity) and I am sure that at 17 he would still be disappointed, particularly after a call back.