Ballet Talk for Dancers

Adult ballet class with mixed levels

pavlov

Hi.

I am a beginner level ballet student, but not brand new to ballet. I am also older. I recently joined a ballet class for adult students. When I talked to the studio, they told me it was open to all levels of students. I bought a class card. There is only one other student in the class besides me. This student is advanced. She is an older student like me not planning to go professional. I was told there were other students, but they had dropped out. After three months of classes, still only just us two students in the class. The instructor told me I should consider a different studio. She said "it's not fair to this other student that I have to slow the class down for you". So if I leave the class, it will be just her and this student. This student will essentially be getting a private lesson.