Ballet Talk for Dancers
Guest Anders

Gym/Pilates

Guest Anders

Hey guys!

In addition to my two ballet classes a week, I also work out at a gym two or three times a week. I am not a bona fide body builder - I started going about two years ago to avoid a sore back from sitting all day (I'm a lawyer), but also to fill out my suit a little better (I'm also skinnny). Lately, I've noticed that my gym work-outs can interfere with ballet class. For example, in yesterday's class my teacher gave me a really hard time about my upper body alignment and posture, and I'm almost sure that it was screwed up because I was a bit sore after a new shoulder excersise at the gym the day before.

Although I've been going to the gym longer than I've been doing ballet there is no question which gives me a greater sense of fulfillment. Since starting ballet, I now concentrate my gym efforts to my upper body, as I feel my lower body gets all it needs and then some at ballet. As a skinny guy by nature I still want to work my upper body and uphold the results my gym-training has brought - not least as I understand strength is needed in pas de deux (if I ever get to try that!). At the same time, I don't want to become too bulky and definitely not screw up my ballet-posture.

At an intermission at the ballet this weekend, I met a certified pilates instructor who is planning to open the first authorized pilates studio in Stockholm this fall. I've seen pilates mentioned in this forum and elsewhere in dance-related places, and understand that the method is used to build strength as well as flexibility.

Should I consider pilates as a substitute for a gym work-out, or more of a complement? How do you guys work out your upper body?

[ January 15, 2002: Message edited by: Anders ]

Xena

I'm not a guy, so hope you don't mind if I just say something.