Ballet Talk for Dancers
Our Thanks and Gratitude to Everyone Who Has Contributed to Our 2020 Fundraiser <3 <3 <3
dorothykwok

Pre-Pro schools with Residence Program AND GOOD ACADEMIC PROGRAM

dorothykwok

I am 13 years old and I have been dancing for quite a few years, training mostly in jazz and contemporary. I am also starting train ballet intensively this year. I also have quite good academics, one of the top students in my year. My school follows the IGCSE and IB program, and I have high hopes of getting in good colleges like Harvard and Oxford. However, this year I started researching into a dance career and am thinking about going to a ballet boarding school.

My question is:

Does any of you know a boarding ballet school that offers a very good academic program as well, so I can enter well known colleges in the future?

/ballet/

My DD is considering Boston Ballet's pre professional program. From my understanding they have a residence and have a partnership with the Newman school. The Newman school seems to have outstanding academics and students can get a full IB diploma.

learningdance

North Carolina School of the Arts has strong academics. They have had several National Merit Scholars.

National Ballet School of Canada has good academics (I don't know much about the Canadian system.)

School of America Ballet affiliates with Professional Children's School which has strong academics (See a list of colleges). It's pricey though.

Many kids do very well with rigorous online programs. Stanford has a program and so does George Washington.

blochhead