Ballet Talk for Dancers

Deciding to quit dance - a struggle

Jeon Tae Na

hello, this is my first time writing on here and honestly i'm very nervous, so forgive me if i ramble a bit too much.

ive been struggling with the decision of quitting dance - im studying in a national arts school where i dance every day as well as study, and in the past couple years i've been facing lots of physical limitations because of puberty and i cannot reach the same range as i could before. which is completely understandable - i've given lots of time and thought over this, working my best in class and taking up pilates so supplement my technique, but nothing had helped much. body image issues stemming from puberty is an inevitable factor leading to this dilemma - and dancing has become quite a nightmare for me the past year or so. 

ive always had people pushing me on and telling me all the things i could achieve and stuff like this, until my ballet teacher (who has been the main source of encouragement as well as expectations) walked up to me and told me to "lose weight" rather curtly in front of the class. it was a rather nasty blow to my self esteem and my attitude towards dance has not been the same since. 

ever since i was two ive dreamt of becoming a professional dancer - and for it to start wavering at the age of fifteen is terrifying me because if i didn't dance i'd probably end up going to law school instead because my parents wanted me to - but my passion for dance is there, only dwindling whenever i see myself in the mirror, unable to reach my leg up to the height i could hold it at, or having my rotation greatly limited and lines less clean.