Ballet Talk for Dancers

NYC specific pointe shoe selection fitting- looking for multiple brand store

aimes

Hi! 

First post. I'm an adult who started dancing really late in life  (been practicing for now 5 years) and I've been told by my teacher that I can try out some basic pointe work at the barre (in a special 20 min class for adult beginners) to work on beginning pointe work as well as to assist with further strengthening my ankles, metatarsals and improving my arch.

I am aware of most of the ballet pointe shoe stores here (as I'm lucky I'm in NYC).; but as a beginner, I'm not sure where to get my fitting so I can try multiple brands. Any thoughts on this? I could go to Capezio, then Grishko, then GM (big maybe), then Chacott (for Freed's and try not to buy EVERYTHING in the gorgeous store), then Bloch, then Sansha etc. BUT I'd like to find a place that I can go and try on multiple brands at the same time. At $80 per fitting I'm not going to go to 6 stores.

My ballet master (he) told me to just go to whichever store that I liked and get a proper fitting: his favorite are Freed, but I think that is bc he is former NYCB and they all wear Freed. He didn't necessarily recommend them to me, he didn't really have a preference as I'm an adult and he said the fit was most important. Any ideas on a boutique in NYC where I can try many brands? I don't want to limit myself to one brand because I only went to one fitting at one brand specific store. Thanks!!! ** NYC only please**

Onstage Dancewear on 197 Madison Ave. carries several brands. If you do not purchase shoes I believe they charge a fitting fee of 15 or 20 dollars. It may be more now as it was a few years ago since I have been there.

Thank you gasguzzler- I will check them out! 

Follow up question: how rude is it to pay a fee and then not buy the shoes? I realize the fee is for the time, but does one tip the fitter?