Ballet Talk for Dancers
Kerrida

Etiquette Regarding Asking for Corrections

Kerrida

Hi everyone,

First off I want to say that I'm absolutely loving my class. It's swiftly become the highlight of the week, and I hope eventually I will be able to arrange things so that I can attend more classes. The instructor for my intro class is a delight, and she always tries to stick around after class for questions for which I am grateful.

One thing I have noticed is that there's not really any corrections being given during class. There are gentle reminders spread out before various segments to remind us what we should be trying to do as far as alignment such as lifting up from the sides and pulling belly button towards the spine. I'm just never sure if I'm doing the movement properly or if something needs to be corrected. I know I'm an adult beginner and not looking to make it a career, I'd still like to know that I'm able to execute things the proper way.

The class is quite small on the day that I can make it, with maybe a half dozen of us on a larger day right now. I don't know if it is appropriate to ask for such corrections, even if the feedback is saved for the end of class. If it is appropriate to ask, how would you suggest I broach the topic without coming across like I'm being needy or trying to monopolize her time? I would also rather not inadvertently make other students, or the instructor, uncomfortable.

I do my best to monitor myself during class, but doing so also ends up bringing other issues. One example being ensuring I didn't let my turn out slip to where my knees are not where they should be. When i go to check I then catch myself letting my hips tilt which causes my rear to stick out. Granted it's also very easy to think you have it right, but outside observance shows you are way off the mark. I just feel like there is only so much I can do to monitor myself and that that sort of feedback would be helpful.

As always thank you for your time and wisdom!