Ballet Talk for Dancers
Chasse Away

Hey everyone!

Chasse Away

I am a 21 year old student studying engineering in university! Dance is just a hobby for me but sometime I take it more seriously then my actual school work! I trained at a "competitive studio" for 15 years or so, when around when I turned 13 I really fell in love with ballet, but I didn't have insight on how the ballet world really worked. At most comp studios ballet is taught for technique purposes only, so I began getting really fustrated on the lack of discipline and difficulty in my classes. I was also studying RAD which I think is a good method for children under 12 but started to get really tedious when I was a teenager. I ended up reciving my adv. 1.

I then moved to a new city for university, originally I was going to quit dance forever, but I missed it so much so I found a tiny private day school that provides pre professional training for its students. I had never attended a strictly ballet school before then (though I had done 2 intensives at a dance collage partenered with a company) but this studio I now go to is beyond amazing! I have improved so much with both with my artistry and my technique. It is a Vaganova method school with all of the staff being ex-professionals, the studio director was a student at vba and then danced at a few companies in Russia before moving here, working with our countries national ballet school, and then opening his own school. I train half with the adults and half with the senior/pre-pro students. 

Anyways lots of people on Reddit talk about this forum so I figured I'd check it out! Not really sure how it works so if anyone has any pointers (or just wants to talk) let me know :)

Thanks! 

Edited by Chasse Away

Momof3darlings

We welcome you Chasse away.  We do not encourage the sharing of information about your location so I have removed the posts after.  Please take a moment to read our guidelines for the forum and then take some time to look around.