Ballet Talk for Dancers
Chasse Away

Anyone have expirence organizing dancers for an "open" class

Chasse Away

Hey everyone,

I am looking for anyone who has experience (or just advice) organizing dance "classes" or groups of adult dancers. I have had this idea for a while and am just wondering if it is even possible or how to go about implementing it:

I am a university student and have noticed many dancers do not continue with classes  once they start school because they can't afford class, can't commute to a studio, or can't find time in their schedule. I was wondering if people would be interested in a peer led "class", the reason I am putting "class" in quotation marks is because there would be no teacher so it is not a class in the traditional sense. I would book studio space at the university for a weekday morning and invite people to join. I would start off "leading" the class, since I have no formal training I would not offer to teach (would not give corrections, fix placement, everyone would be responsible for their own technique) but I could come up with an hour and a halfs worth of exercises and I have enough experience to make sure that the music fits the exercises, the barre exercises compliments the centre work, nothing breaks any "unofficial" style rules. Then if enough people took interest after a few weeks I could invite other dancers to "lead" the class (I would keep this by invite only to ensure the quality of the program). We could also learn some repatoire and have people lead the rep that they are most familiar with. 

Had anyone done this? Do you think people would even be interested in this? 

I should add that my university offers beginner and beginner-intermidiate level classes, as well as the oppurtunity to join a "group" and preform a piece in February in many disaplines, but they are not "classes" but rather rehearsals for the performance oppurtunity. 

Edited by Chasse Away

Momof3darlings