Ballet Talk for Dancers
Ballet Prodigy

I'm behind

Ballet Prodigy

Hey guys! So I've been dancing ballet for about 15 years now. I'm in the advanced class at my studio but the problem is that everyone seems to be better than me. I feel so behind in my technique. Does anybody know why? I do ballet for about 5 hours a day usually 2 are spent en pointe. I don't know if it's from having "bad" teachers when I was younger, or from me being lazy, or just my body type or what. I feel like a terrible dancer but I love ballet so much and I've dedicated so much of my life to this. I try to work on technique at home but maybe I'm doing something wrong? Any advice for how to get better ballet technique would be great! My greatest weaknesses are bent knees when they should be straight, falling out of turns, and not having high enough leg extensions. Any advice anyone? 

vrsfanatic

Ballet Prodigy 15 years is a very long time to be studying ballet and still be a teenager. I hope you mean you began pre-ballet at two, three or four and are counting that as ballet! 

Stretching the knees is a very important aspect of ballet. Have you gone to your teacher for extra help? There are exercises you can do that can help with this. Ask your teacher for exercises to help you. It is very difficult to answer your questions specifically without seeing you. Falling out of turns could have any number of reasons. I would suggest working on single turns before attempting to do more, but if your supporting knee is bent, you will continue to fall out of your turns.