Ballet Talk for Dancers
Coriander9

Weird Situation??

Coriander9

Yikes,  I wish I could post this with even more levels of anon but here it goes:

• I'm in my late 20s, pretty fit, and just had a baby this summer.
  • I have borderline severe diastasis recti (abdominal muscles have split and can only be brought together with very focused, conscious effort) but am otherwise strong. This condition leads to random bouts of sloppiness as I am still learning how to manage life with it. 
  • I danced and moved up several levels (RAD intermediate, roughly speaking) during my pregnancy
  • I have been dancing consistently for about three years

So, this semester I moved into a intermediate class that's readying girls for pointe this winter. It's a somewhat mixed class of age 10 to high schoolers but mostly middle schoolers. I'm very honored to be allowed to take syllabus classes as an adult. The teacher of this class is the owner of the studio and 90yo. She is universally acknowledged as being very tough. Toughness is no big deal to me--she hardly compares to some of the bosses I've had but the problem is that she gets very mad if I do something incorrectly and threatens to kick me out of class. 

Example 1:
T: "Okay let's do splits; turn away from the barre, tendu and lower into them."
Me, naturally very flexible, has had both splits since I was a tot: Tendus and lowers into flat splits
T: "NO, DON'T YOU DARE DO THAT. THIS ISN'T GYMNASTICS. YOU'RE A BAD EXAMPLE FOR THESE GIRLS."
Me: ??? 

Example 2:
T: Time to jump. Let's do grande jetes across the floor and really jump high this time--like over a box! We're not babies anymore; no more marching! This is Intermediate I, girls!!
Me, has been doing squats all summer: Jumps as high as I can, trying to be graceful, making sure both legs are stretched and feet are pointed. 
T: NO!NO!NO! YOU CAN'T BE IN MY CLASS IF YOU DO THAT! YOU'RE A BAD EXAMPLE AND HAVE NO DISCIPLE! YOU'RE JUMPING LIKE A BOY!! THAT IS NOT BALLET. 
Me: ???