Ballet Talk for Dancers
ascballerina

A Reintroduction

ascballerina

As I have now been on Ballet Talk for seven years (as of yesterday!! ūüėģ), I thought I would tell a little bit about where I am now, as I started in the YD forums, and after a semi-hiatus (was still reading but rarely posting), I find that I'm posting here again.

This June I graduated from a well-respected teacher training program after three years of amazing training.  Over the course of those three years, I learned a lot about not only teaching dance, but also myself and what I wanted to do in life.  I also came to terms with the fact that I never had the training opportunities to attempt a professional career, as I spent a lot of that time with overuse injuries and also had the opportunity to be exposed to the training of pre-pro students, and realised I would probably not have been happy in that environment.  I also learned that I prefer smaller studios with recreational dancers--there is a lot of joy for me in bringing ballet to the world just for the sake of doing so.  I currently do have a student I am training with the goal of getting into a university dance program (her goal, and we have some time), but it makes for a nice change rather than a day-in-day-out situation.

I also discovered another passion, Pilates and fascial fitness.  Sometime in second year, when I had been taking Pilates (with inherent fascial work, which I badly needed) for as long as I had been in the city, I took stock of my career choice and determined a few things:

1.  I have a lot of student debt

2.  Being a dance teacher is not going to pay the bills, especially in the beginning

3. I was not interested in being a starving artist

4.  I was also not interested in slaving away at a job I hated/was bored by so that I could support my artistic side (working at a call centre really makes you think about your priorities)