Ballet Talk for Dancers
rane

Private Lessons

rane

Hi,

This is my first time posting. I'm sorry if this has been asked before, but I couldn't find it on a search.

What is a good age to start private ballet lessons? My 5-year-old does group ballet lessons, but she has some specific flexibility goals to go along with figure skating. (Her coaches say that ballet is the best type of cross training at this age.) We love her group ballet lessons and will be continuing them long-term, but I'm wondering if it might be helpful to have some lessons catered to her specific goals or if at this age group lessons should be sufficient? 

Thanks for your help!

dancemaven

rane, hopefully one of our Teacher-Moderators will come by and comment, but until then, I will offer some information for you to consider based upon my DD’s long journey in ballet training from age 3 to 27.

Actual ballet training doesn’t start until around age 8.  Prior to that, the classes are really more about co-ordination (e.g., skipping, galloping, chasse-ing, walking toe to heel, walking backwards toe to heel, giant walks, walking on tip-toe), developing muscles,  developing rhythm sense, learning to respond to verbal cue, learning to respond to non-verbal cues, learning change of directions with verbal cues and with non-verbal cues, learning spatial awareness (e.g., the room, the space, other children near them), learning diagonals—both spatially and crossing the body, co-ordinating movement with other children/people (e.g., forming circles without pulling each other all over the place, moving with another person—with or without holding hands), creating patterns while moving, sequencing of movements, stretching and flexibility,  learning to stand quietly while waiting their turn, learning to pay attention quietly, learning discipline of class, etc.  These are all pre-ballet skills——skills that all young children can benefit from.