Ballet Talk for Dancers
Skyla

The Pointe Race

Skyla

Hi Everyone

I am a brand-spanking-new adult ballet student with little practical knowledge and many ignorant questions. I started the journey long before finally taking the plunge to attend my first adult beginner class two weeks ago, much with the help of the senior members on this forum. Over the years I have read many blogs, subscribed to many Youtube channels and relentlessly watched the Swanlanke cygnets in slow motion in an attempt to understand the magnificent sorcery I see before me (I still don't, by the way). 

There is one question, especially from adults, that has no end to it: en pointe. ''When will I be ready? How long will it take? How can I do it quicker? How do I know if I'm ready?''

May I please ask the opinion of experienced dancers and teachers on here why there is a race to get en pointe

It's pretty. It's gracious. It's proper. It's real ballet. The thought of it does make me excited, almost as much as the cygnets.