Ballet Talk for Dancers
ArletteGriselle

Turnout and arch

ArletteGriselle

Hi. I've been dancing ballet since 4 but stricktly only since 13 years old (as in with a ballet studio that teaches proper ballet training). I am now 17 years old and i struggle with certain things. One of them is my turnout and arch. Sometimes i feel that i am straining my knee trying to get a perfect turnout but then when i leave my natural turnout i am not pleased, so I want to know what exercises I can do to get the best turnout. The same goes with my arch. When i have a ballet friend pull down on my arch, my toes do touch the floor while keeping my leg completely straight and then my teacher asks me why i dont use that arch when dancing. So i want to know how i can build strength to have the good arch i potentially show while dancing.

Thank you :)

Victoria Leigh

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, ArletteGriselle.

It's good that you are studying at a good ballet studio. Since you have been there quite a while now, I think that the best one to talk to would be your teacher.Teachers should be able to help you more than we can, because they can see you.  Has your teacher insisted on "perfect turnout", or is that what you think is essential?  Has the teacher, when noticing your arch when stretching it ever offered to tell you HOW to use your that will help them look better?  The reason I ask is that you are old enough and have enough training to understand that everyone has different physical abilities, and that you must work towards the best usage of those abilities. It is the teacher's job to help you do that.  We can't see you, therefore, we can't know your physical ability or limitations.