Ballet Talk for Dancers
NSB612

Hello Newman

NSB612

Hello,

I am new to these forums and I am registered to take the adult ballet classes at SFB, due to my demanding job I have been unable to attend. I am a little older also male. I am unsure if I will fit in, in what could possibly be a younger group of classmates. 

I am also new to San Francisco I have been here just over a year, I have a fairly demanding job I sometimes work 12 to 15 hour days nights and weekends included.

My job is not music related but I have been a musician all my life, I am a guitarist, pianist, bassist as well as a singer songwriter and I write and produce my own music. I am also a novelist/ writer and I am just re editing my first novel to be published before the end of the year.

I have always had a fascination with dance particularly for ballet. Ballet dancers work so hard, and are so committed to their art. I find their dedication and endurance to be motivating within myself and my own pursuits of artistic expression. I am interested in movement and dance and I have always wished I had taken ballet as a child. My interest in taking ballet now is to understand its complexity and a way to combine art and exercise. It will also increase my mobility and posture.

I have always been fascinated with all the arts and I do go to art galleries often. I listen to classical, jazz and various forms of rock music. I am also a huge horror movie and sci-fi fan.

I would also love to get into the habit of attending SFB performances. 

Hopefully once I get a Sunday off and can shake the jitters of the new experience I will get the chance to attend an SFB adult ballet class. I would also be nice to possibly meet with any classmates who would be interested in meeting at a Starbucks before or after class for coffee.

BTW I am also a Seinfeld fan which would explain the title of this post.

Redbookish

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, NSB612. We're glad you found us.