Ballet Talk for Dancers
Sign in to follow this  
Eloisea

Dance programs in Europe for 21+

Eloisea

Originally from Switzerland, I am currently in my second year of study at Alvin Ailey in New York. I would like to go back to Europe next year and find a school/program where I could « finish » my training and be ready to transition into the active world of working as a professional dancer. I am looking for a place where they would be ballet based while still teaching some neoclassical and contemporary/contemporary ballet rep and classes. 
My main problem is that I will be 21 in March and I don’t find a lot of school that accept people after 18/19. Would anyone know any school/program that could correspond ?

Thank you 

lacetree

In the U.K. you could look at: Northern Ballet School, London Russian Ballet School, London Contemporary Dance School, London Studio Centre, Trinity Laban, Rambert, Northern School of Contemporary Dance and maybe Central School of Ballet. These are schools just off the top of my head and there will be more. Some will be more like a traineeship, as you get in the States, with performing opportunities. Some of these schools will have a more contemporary edge. Some offer specific postgrad training. Dance training typically finishes later in the UK than in the States and 21 won’t be very unusual. Many centres will have minimum ages, not maximum, but are often highly selective.

lacetree

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland might be another possibility.

Doubleturn