Ballet Talk for Dancers

Your Favorite Tips For Learning Assemble

MattMan

I am a 63 year old student of beginning ballet.  I took my first class Oct 2019, and feel greatly challenged to learn and develop the coordination, strength, technique, etc etc for assemble.  Just for accuracy, my best description of the desired outcome in our studio is to begin on two feet, plie, back leg low degage a la second, close en l'aire and pose suspended with feet together in fifth with working leg in front, and land on two feet in plie, then "rinse and repeat!" as they say.  

When you were learning this simple jump what were some of the coaching tips that helped you put it all together?  Thanks for sharing!

ascballerina

There's many ways to attack assemblé, and rest assured, you're not alone in struggling!  I can give you two concepts to work on that I use when I teach my students:

1) Soubrasauts!!!  Plié 5th, JUMP, bringing the legs tight together in the air so that it looks like one leg, then land in a beautiful plié.  When you take it into assemblé, you're looking to feel those legs squeezing together just like that--and I also like to think FIFTH fifth in my mind, which was my own teacher's cue--fifth in the air, fifth on the ground.

2) not everyone teaches this, but I like the use of the quarter plié for assemblés.  Plié on two feet halfway to demi (so, quarter), as you continue down to demi, you start the brush, finish the brush as you start the jump, bring everything together at the height of the jump in 5th, then land two feet plié 5th.  This works for me, and I have a VERY short demi-plié.  

I like to work on 6/8s when I'm trying to create a roundness to jumps.  I personally find 3/4s a little much for assemblés, especially in the beginning, and the extra beat of the 6/8 (or 3/4 for that matter) gives you a little extra time, more than a duple time piece would. (up-up-down rather then up-down)

I hope this helps!!!

Miss Persistent