Ballet Talk for Dancers

Advice on going pro in late 20s please help

emaries17

emaries17

HI, I am a current 18 year old in college. I have been dancing for over 15 years, mostly in ballet. I was going to go on pointe before COVID but plan on trying to when my college opens up in the spring. I am currently in a program at school for aspiring scientists. I have loved science all my life and this plan is for those wanting a PhD (which I really do want). I also really love dance and would love to join a ballet or modern company. I don't feel the need to climb the ranks or anything I just want to dance. I am currently minoring in dance ( I want to add a psych minor and have to take extra classes for another scholar program so I may not be able to double major). As a part of the program I have to have a summer internship so realistically may not be able to fit in long intensives. By the time I get a PhD I will be about 28.  I can't see myself taking gap years in between grad and undergrad since I a). Have to apply to grad school or a post bac research program senior year and b). probably won't go back to school later in life and c). love science.  If I keep training and performing (possibly with smaller semi pro companies) and try to build a resume with smaller roles/freelancing throughout my education, would it be possible to get into a company to spend a few years in before giving it up for good? I've heard its impossible but I have also been dancing for so long and would do my best to continue at a pre-professional rate. 

vrsfanatic

emaries17 first may I say you are a very accomplished young person with great determination and abilities.